top of page

Short Story



“Enough is enough I just can’t take this anymore; come on Miya we are not staying here "


“But moto m what’s wrong, why are you so angry and why can't you both just talk once"


"You are just being so ludicrous, mom "


“Ok you think I am being ludicrous that’s fine, you can stay here but I am leaving, and that's my finale decision ”


“But mom can you just calm down for a minute, Dad will you say something, this is crazy”


“Ok, honey just wait, clam down first we will-”


“NO ENOUGH I DONT WANT TO HEAR ANY OF YOUR RUBBISH NOW “


With a loud bang, Rose walked out of the house straight towards her car and injected the key, the engine roared at once and tcarare came to life and in no time she was on the highway driving with full speed as all those troublesome thoughts and things started replaying in her mind. She started to detect her current situation as the same as that of the yore. She recalled the memories of her childhood and how the whole situation was repeating. But the only difference now was that she was in her mother's place.


With all those thoughts running in her mind with all sorts of pessimistic emotions she started losing control of her car and with every passing second the speed of the car kept on increasing and in no time Rose lost her ability to control the car and meet with an accident.


BANG


--------------------


FEW HOUR LATER


Rose opened her eyes to face her crying mother and daughter


“Oo mom, thank God you are ok" Miya hugged her mother boisterously with lots of love and affection.


“Mom, I am sorry I didn’t mean to hurt you. I just wanted you and dad to be together, I know you are hurt but please listen to dad for once, I am sure there is some miss understanding, Dad loves you, mom, he won’t do anything that will hurt you, please try to understand mom please, I don't know what happened between you both, but please just listen to dad once" Miya pleaded her mother to understand the things she is trying to say.


“Ok Miya darling don’t worry I will take care of your mother can you just give us some time, I need to talk with your mom, you go to the cafeteria and eat something ok?” said Ana


[ANA IS ROSE MOTHER]


Even though Miya was not happy with her grandmother's suggestion, yet she decided to give some space to them and with the same unassured tone she said


“I am not hungry, but I will go tell dad that mom has gained her consciousness “


With that said she made her way out and Ana took a seat next to her daughter and questioned in a stern voice “now will you care to explain, what kind of behaviour is this Rose".


Rose turned her face towards the contrary side to avoid her mother's gaze. Ana gently turned Rose towards her and very calmly, in her motherly concern questioned Rose, " What is it darling speak up, what made you do this"


Rose left a lamentation and hugged her mother and said in a quivering voice "He cheated on me mom, he cheated on me with Hana, he broked my heart mom same as dad did to you, he will leave me, dad left me and now David will do the same, mom I do.." Rose broked down on her mother's shoulder and cried it all until she couldn't find any more energy for it.


After a few moments of silence, Ana asked calmly "Did you talked about this with David?"


"What is there to talk mom I heard him talking about moving in and when I checked his phone, on the last dialled it was Hana's number, " Rose said indignantly


"And you didn't bother to talk about it and just decided to leave the house, right?


"But mom-"


"But what darling, just once think over it Rose, don't you think that you could have acted more subtly and responsibly rather than to just start a fight and leave the house that though in front of your child "


"I know you are hurt Rose but I don't think David will do that, he is a kind man and loves you a lot. I am sure there is some miss understanding, talk to him once " Ana tried to explain to her daughter.


"But what if he leaves me, mom, what if he doesn't love me anymore. He will leave me as dad did" replied rose in shivering voice as tears continued to roll down her cheeks.


Ana let out a heavy sigh and said "Stop destroying your present by thinking about the past Rose, let go of the things that happened a long time back and focus on your present. Just because it happened with me doesn't mean that it will happen with you as well, just because your dad left you and never turned back it doesn't mean that David will leave his daughter, and just because one man was not loyal doesn't me that all the men you meet will be dishonest to you. I know you heard something that is hurting you but you didn't even try to talk about it with your husband and decided to flee away from your problems leaving your daughter behind, do you have any idea what that little girl has been going through seeing her mother like this. No, you didn't, you didn't bother to think about anyone in your bitterness Rose and knowingly or unknowingly you are just being as selfish as your father was."


" I am sorry mom, I am sorry I didn't mean to hurt anyone, I am sorry," said Rose as she realised how outrageously she had handled the whole situation


"I know you weren't intending to hurt anyone darling but you need to talk with David"


"Yes mom I will, I will surely talk with him "and she hugged her mother dearly as she comprehended how wrong she was. Both mother and daughter were in each other's embrace as they shared their love and affection for each other without saying anything but the lovely moment came to a halt as David walked in looking drained, his shoulders were down dismally and his face conveyed how hurt and helpless he was to see her dear wife on the bed and that though injured.


"You both talk, I will check on Miya," announced Ana and made her way out of the room.


There was complete silence in the room as the couple kept staring at each other with all kind of emotions. If anyone else would have been in that room at that time, would have surely felt the thick tension in the air. After a few moments of silence, David decided to speak up "How are you feeling Rose?"


However, Rose completely ignored the question and asked bluntly, "Are you cheating on me, David?"


"WHAT, What are you talking about?" David asked startled


"I know you are cheating on me, I heard you talking on the phone and you were telling Hana that you are ready to move in with her, I know everything, David just accept it already. It's ok if you don't love me any more or want to leave me but I will request you not to turn down our little daughter, she is too small to lose her father. And I know how bad it feels to live without a father-"


"Ohh hold on, just hold on Rose you are just illustrating the whole situation in a different perspective which is wrong, yes I was talking about moving in but it was not about me leaving my family and move with her, " David said in one single breath.


"WHAT, but…" Rose tried to process the information she had just received


"Yes Rose I love you, I love Miya and I love you both beyond anything and I won't leave you both every. How could you even think about it?" David said feeling hurt


"You do?" questioned Rose still unsure


"Of course I do darling, I love my family and why would I leave you both when I am so happy with you both "


"But what was all that I heard "


David huffed and sat down on the bed next to his wife and gently holding her he said lovingly "Rose I brought a new house for us and wanted to gift you on our anniversary, that's the reason I was concealing it from you and about Hana, she is an interior designer and was doing some changes in the house, and what you heard about that, she called me that day to inform me that the house is ready and on that, I have retorted her that I am ready to move in."


"Ohh God I am really sorry David I mistrusted you, I am very sorry," Rose said with a snivel


"It's ok my love but please trust me I love you a lot and won't even think about leaving you and next time you have any thoughts or doubt in your mind, please talk to me first, please "


"Yes I will and I love you too David and I am sorry for hurting you "


"No issues my love no issues"


And they hugged each other forgiving each other and letting their love and relationship over all the miss understanding and hurt.



The End.


"It's easy to make relation with people, but it's difficult to make them work. We all humans and gonna hurt each other intentionally or unintentionally but in the end, what matters is how you make things work rather than ending the relationship. And never let your past affect your present and future as everything in your life happens for a reason. And remember not all the things will go as you planned, something will go only the way they are written."



-Saba Shaikh



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Saying No

NO..... Have you ever been in a situation where this simple two-letter word "No" feels the most difficult thing to speak? Have you ever agreed to things that you don't want to do, just to avoid their

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page